
We have two yellow labs, Rudy and Charlotte. I've mentioned them in previous postings here. Rudy we have had since he was a puppy. Charlotte, we rescued from the Humane Society. It was actually 3 years ago yesterday that we brought her home. In terms of animal rescue, since you don't know their real birthday...the day you bring them home is called their "Gotcha Day". Yesterday was Charlotte's Gotcha Day. She was a stinker the first year after we brought her home...had very few manners, the only command she knew was sit.
But, one thing the vet who saw her in the beginning told us was that she is a very smart dog. And that she is. Along with the smarts, though came orneriness. One minute you love her cause she is so darn cute..then next minute I just want to drive her back to the pound because she is so frustrating.
Over the last couple of years, though, she has settled down a lot. She and Rudy get along, though that did take some time. Rudy was not to happy with the newcomer. Now,, when we take them to the vet (we usually take both at the same time) if Charlotte gets taken away from Rudy while at the vet he gets very upset.....so he has clearly become attached to the little stinker.
She, in turn, follows Rudy around all the time. If she cannot see him...she will go looking for him. It's very cute.
I'll talk more about Charlotte later....just wanted to say Happy Gotcha Day to her. How we came to have Charlotte deserves a post all by itself.
No comments:
Post a Comment